Memorial Student Scholarship, in Memorium of Candace M. Kling

APPLICATION DEADLINE: Wednesday, May 10, 2023 at 11:59PM EST

Summary: The Illuminating Engineering Society District of Columbia Section (IESDC) will award a
merit-based, single year $1,000 scholarship to recognize and support future contributors in the fields
of lighting and electrical design.

Eligibility: The scholarships are open to citizens of the United States, permanent U.S. residents, as
well as holders of U.S. student visas (F-1).

Applicants must be students currently enrolled in a part-time or full-time undergraduate or graduate
program as a degree candidate in the fields of Architectural Lighting Design, Theatrical Lighting
Design, Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Interior Design, or Electrical Engineering at an
accredited college/university within Washington, D.C. Metropolitan region.
Applicants must be able to attend the IESDC Candela Awards Ceremony on Thursday, June 27th,
2024 at the Hamilton Live in Washington, D.C.

Deliverables: Email the following three items listed below to IESDC Education Chair, Tina Sarawgi
( and IESDC Secretary, Ashley Mandich (
by the deadline listed above to be considered. Incomplete applications will not be considered.
1. Completed Application
2. Resume, including any supplemental information to this application
3. A one to two page essay.

Essay: In a one to two page essay, describe the following:

  • What inspired you to pursue your studies in lighting and/or electrical design?
  •  How do you envision your ideal career path developing post graduation and how will lighting play a
    role in your career?
  •  How do you see yourself giving back to the lighting and electrical design community in the future?



The Student Scholarship was renamed in 2019 to honor all those in our community that we’ve lost. Each year, the Scholarship will be announced in honor of either a specific person or in honor of all District of Columbia Section Members who we’ve lost. The 2019 IES District of Columbia Section Memorial Student Scholarship was awarded in honor of Candace M. Kling, sponsored by CM Kling + Associates, and Michael B. Klein, sponsored by Jesco.

The $1,000 scholarship is awarded annually to an outstanding student who demonstrates continued interest in the art and science of illumination.

Past Scholarship Recipients

  • Aaron Zimmerman, Penn State University (2021)
  • Dinara Rustamova, George Mason University (2019)
  • Lily Hoffman, George Washington University, The Corcoran School of Art & Design (2018)
  • Tuyen Dyer (Honorable Mention), Virginia Commonwealth University (2018)
  • Jojo Rapipong, Marymount University (2017)
  • Brianne Beal, The George Washington University (2016)
  • Karen Purifoy, The George Washington University (2015)
  • Sharece Hall, The George Washington University (2014)
  • Redeit Admassie, The George Washington University (2013)
  • Rosemarie Kasperson, The George Washington University (2012)
  • Victoria Owings, Marymount University (2011)
  • Stephen D. Ramos, The George Washington University (2010)
  • Marissa Julien, Marymount University (2009)
  • Alex Klein, son of Michael B. Klein (2008)
Candace M. Kling
Candace M. Kling

It is fitting that we are able to honor Candace and Michael together, as they had the two most recognizable laughs in the industry. Thankfully for those of us who knew them we were able to hear them quite often. Often overlooked is Candace’s ability to teach and mentor. Many of her one time junior employees continue to have thriving careers in lighting design. She was an amazing one on one educator, making certain that you understood the reason behind the design. And never forgetting that an important part of design is instinct and having a little fun. She also made it possible to give back. Not only encouraging but almost requiring her staff to participate in the IES and IALD.
—David Ghatan

Michael B. Klein
Michael B. Klein

Michael never claimed perfection and his eccentrics brought more attention to his world. His full head of white hair coupled with his bow ties and his eclectic combination of colors brought spontaneity and joy to all of us. And these simple yet significant ways presented a synergy of energy for all of us. And these eccentrics brought Michael to the forefront in planning and acting out the annual progress report to the IES. Only Michael could pull this off and be loved by all.
—Frank Florentine

Upcoming Events